All Zamorano generations have learned to work with their hands while acquiring modern theoretical and scientific knowledge in classrooms and laboratories. Wilson Popenoe claimed that learning practical skills would be the main education objective in Zamorano.
  • 1941

    The board of the United Fruit Company agrees to support Samuel Zemurray’s endeavor to establish an agricultural school in Central America.
  • 1942

    Dr. Wilson Popenoe is hired as director of the Panamerican Agriculture School. The construction of the main buildings on campus begins.
  • 1943

    In June, seventy young men arrive to Zamorano to begin their studies.
  • 1955

    Richard M. Nixon, then vice president of the United States, delivers the commencement speech.
  • 1958

    Dr. Wilson Popenoe retires; William Paddock is appointed as the new director of Zamorano.
    The Admissions Department requires a high school diploma from all candidates.
  • 1961

    The school adopts a quarterly calendar of 15 weeks per quarter; the academic year begins in January.
  • 1964-1968

    Dr. Albert S. Muller is the Zamorano Director.
  • 1969-1972

    Dr. Robert P. Armour is the Zamorano Director.
  • 1973-1974

    Dr. Kermit H. Adams is the Zamorano Director.
  • 1975-1978

    Dr. Joseph S. Courand is the Zamorano Director.
  • 1979

    Dr. Simon Malo becomes the first Latin American and Zamorano graduate appointed as Zamorano Director.
  • 1981

    First group of women enroll at Zamorano.
  • 1983

    Zamorano Informe Anual 2013 complete-02 The first four women graduate, including Ana Maria Girón, who held highest GPA in the class.
  • 1986

    The United Fruit Company concludes its financial support to Zamorano.
  • 1987

    Zamorano adds an optional fourth year to the program for students who completed their third year studies, and graduates from previous years.
  • 1993-2002

    Dr. Keith L. Andrews is Director of Zamorano.
  • 1998

    Zamorano shifts from a three-year program to a four-year program. The university now offers four different degrees: Agribusiness Management, Food Science and Technology, Agricultural Sciences and Production, and Environment and Development.
  • 2003-2010

    Dr. Kenneth L. Hoadley is President of Zamorano.
  • 2004-2007

    Establishment of the Four Centers for Research and Innovation: Biodiversity, e-Learning, Entrepreneurship, and Renewable Energy.
  • 2011-2014

    Dr. Roberto Cuevas García, of Guatemalan origin, is the second Latin American president of Zamorano.
  • 2012

    Zamorano celebrates 70 years serving the Americas and the world.
  • 2014

    Dr. Jeffrey Lansdale, as the current President of Zamorano.